2019 Best Books
Some Stories Lessons from the Edge of Business and Sports by Yvon Chouinard Picking a favorite of Yvon Chouinard’s writings is harder than picking a favorite beer. You’ll see what we mean when you dip into Some Stories, a new collection that captures his fervor for all he loves and wants to save. Here’s a taste of what’s inside.
Training for the Uphill Athlete A Manual for Mountain Runners and Ski Mountaineers by Steve House, Scott Johnston, and Kilian Jornet In the tradition of Training for the New Alpinism, Training for the Uphill Athlete is the first training book for mountain runners, ski mountaineers and skimo racers and provides the scientifically backed and athlete-tested wisdom and experience of three of the best uphill athletes. It educates outdoor athletes of all stripes to develop plans to perform their best. Buy the Book
Let My People Go Surfing The Education of a Reluctant Businessman (Including 10 More Years of Business Unusual) by Yvon Chouinard Yvon Chouinard’s memoir of how and—more importantly—why he started a business is more relevant than ever before. From his youth as the son of a French Canadian handyman to the thrilling, ambitious climbing expeditions that inspired his innovative designs for the sport's equipment, Let My People Go Surfing is the story of a man who brought doing good and having grand adventures into the heart of his business life-a book that will deeply affect entrepreneurs and outdoor enthusiasts alike. Buy the Book
Swell A Sailing Surfer’s Voyage of Awakening by Captain Liz Clark In this memoir, Captain Liz Clark captures her voyage in gripping detail, sharing tales of sailing in high seas, of solitude and surprises, of finding connection to the earth and commitment to living in harmony with it. Buy the Book
Stories of the Year The best-of moments with the greatest impact. View All